2014 Bible?

bookstore bldgImagine working at a bookstore where a modestly dressed young man or woman approaches your counter with the following question: “Excuse me , Can you point me to the 2014 Bible?”
While remaining composed on the outside, I imagine that on the inside I would scream “Are you serious! Do you really think that our infinitely wise Father needs to change His Word to accommodate a culture of sin? “

I would say to that patron, “ I don’t have a 2014 Bible, but I have The Good News! Because of Jesus, the Christ, God does not judge us but asks us to judge ourselves. And Jesus has reconciled us to Our Father so that  we can boldly approach His throne of Grace.”

Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. __Matthew 7:1-5 NIV

I could go on to say, “ In this book, when God said don’t lie, cheat, fornicate, envy, kill, steal, disobey and dishBible-openonor, it was with good reason. God knows that the end of sin is death.  Maybe not an instant physical death as in Numbers 25, but  the death of a relationship, an opportunity,  or a reputation.

And this book not only teaches us the Holiness of God but it testifies to His faithfulness in the lives of all who have trusted in Him.! Let me show what happened to Abraham, Isaac, Joseph, Moses, Gideon, David, Peter and Paul . . . .”

And though I do not work in a book store, sometimes I feel like I stand behind a counter labeled “Christian” that is woman deskconstantly visited by those who struggle to reconcile failing schemes and trends with the Word of God and it’s all too much. But rather than turn from the familiar unfulfilling bondages of personal “freedom” there is a tiring search to validate known sin.

Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.__Hebrews 4:16NIV

A salesman, I am not, but I want to say to the seeker,”You’ve tried the rest, now try the best!” Because I know that if my life isn’t working and I am the great I AM—the master of my domain, the captain of my ship aka the Queen Bee—then I AM the problem, not God!

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

 

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

2 responses to “2014 Bible?

Leave a Reply

