roses have thorns

thornsThere was so much wisdom in not revealing Paul’s “thorn in the flesh” as it removes the opportunity to compare our woes to his. The truth of the matter is: Pain is pain. It is present or it is not; that is the only real difference.

In this storm, God’s Sovereignty is my anchor. Whatever God allows in my life has purpose. My “job” is to discover what I am to glean from the presence of this “thorn.”

First, I need to remain aware that God is a Loving Father and not a cruel Dad. Because of Jesus, we are adopted children of God. And God loves us just as He loves Jesus. The same grace that saves, provides mercy. Therefore, my circumstances are not a reflection of God’s approval or disapproval.

Secondly, I rest in the fact that God has a plan for my life (and your life). I think this is such an important fact that it warrants a few more lines. lol Having designed us before He formed the Earth, God placed within us ALL the talent, fortitude, and faith that we need to become what He has designed us to become. The key to success-fulfilling the will of God- is to rely upon and draw our strength and resources from God.

Paul said God’s grace is sufficient.

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ marose singley rest upon me.__ 2 Corinthians 12:9

Lastly, even when my circumstances change for the better, my relationship with God will not reach its pinnacle until I stand before Him in heaven. When the storm passes, things aren’t the same. Some things—thoughts, habits, even relationships— are changed or lost and a new path has been cleared. Each day is a more intimate experience with God. One of growing dependence that is filled with hope because He is ready to answer every prayer. This thing called the Christian life is a beautiful rose .   .   . with a thorn.

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

2 responses to “roses have thorns

  1. Amen!! I love Sheila Walsh’s testimony. She’s the author of “The Storm Inside”. In a webcast she did she talked about when storms come, to ask God “What does this storm reveal about me? What does this storm reveal about You?” Not all storms are external. Like finances, divorce, bad day at work (for examples). Some storms are within. I recently had one where my actions made my daughter think I was mad at her. I cried that night asking God to show me “What does this frustration reveal about me?” He showed me: fear. It’s amazing what He will reveal to us through storms and thorns!

Leave a Reply

