the decision

For many months, I have wanted to convey a single thought. Something that I have personally experienced and what others have shared with me. It is:  Power lies in making the decision to prefer God‘s will rather than my (our) own. Does it sound really simple? It is the “difference maker”.   It is the bridge from religion to relationship.bridge watercolor

To make this choice, an intelligent decision to obey the known will of God rather than continue in my own wisdom is the second most important decision that I have ever made. The first being, Salvation_ accepting the perfect sacrifice of Jesus Christ as atonement for my sins past, present and future.

This decision begins with acknowledging the conflict, the struggle that exists when what my physical cravings, habitual thoughts and my emotions__ body, mind, and soul are in opposition to God’s Word aka God’s will. Then, choosing to do what pleases God rather than myself.   A heart bent towards God is not easily wooed by temptations.thermometer in water

Initially, these decisions do not feel “natural” because they are not. Self-preservation, self-service and, self- righteousness are the degrees on the performer’s thermometer. God’s ways are in direct opposition to “going along to get along”,  keeping the status quo, and the pride of tradition.

Why decide to esteem God’s ways over my (our)own?  One reason   .   .   .    .     .   Jesus said,

I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.__ John 5:30 KJV

 Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.__ John 5:19 NIV

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scripture

For this reason they tried all the more to kill him; not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was even calling God his own Father, making himself equal with God.

Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed.__ John 5:18-20 NIV

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

Leave a Reply

