Nothing

Then Jesus asked them, “When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything?” “Nothing,” they answered.__Luke 22:35 NIV

This is one of my favorite verses in the Bible.  I remember where I was when I paused to take it in. Fwalking on the beachor me it is evidence of the “practical “  or “everyday” sovereignty of God.  I marveled at how Jesus asked His disciples this question with such confidence?   How did Jesus know that they would not lack any thing?

As Christ-followers, disciples we are called to walk where and as Jesus walked.  When faced with a difficulty or uncertainty  that I could indeed “follow” Jesus,  I have been told, “ Jesus came to earth as a man.” And I have thought it, if I didn’t verbally interject, “ But He was the son of God!”

I don’t know how much of Jesus was human and how much of Jesus was God.  My Bible doesn’t proviprayerde an account of Jesus‘  teenage and young  adult life.  But what is shared of His life is that Jesus spent time with His/Our Father in prayer and that Jesus read the Holy Scripture.  God’s will is God’s Word. God’s Word is powerful, power-filled. 

For now, I can only credit Jesus’ relationship with His Father as the source of His confidence.  And because of Jesus, we have access to the Father as well.   And we can have confidence that when I (we) obey God and  I am about His work, I can have confidence that I will lack NO THING.

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

3 responses to “Nothing

Leave a Reply

