NOT

I still haven’t forgotten a conversation that I had several years ago. I was speaking with a woman about her financial crisis. She shared her desire to be “a good steward” and to pay her family’s monthly obligations and accumulated debts. She mentioned that she and her family had recently accepted Christ and they also wanted to pay a tithe.  She mentioned wanting a savings. She knew all the “right” or “Christian” things to say but her current spending habits did not support her words. I was being bombarded with a list good intentions. and by God’s grace, I listened quietly. Her proclamations of her desire for these good things were peppered with the statement, “I just don’t know what to do!”   redwhite notI was just as surprised as she was to hear myself interject: “But you know what NOT to do!” I immediately apologized to her for the outburst.   She could have ended our conversation, instead she said “No, That’s true. I needed to hear that.” From that point we discussed some expenditures that she might consider changing. But I believe, and she believed that moment was a word in season.    The Book of Isaiah has something to say about a word in season:

The Lord God hath given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary: he wakeneth morning by morning, he wakeneth mine ear to hear as the learned.__Isaiah 50:4 KJV

It really doesn’t matter which area is out of balance– outside of the will of God because  character is consistent.   As believers we have a resident guide and Comforter aka Holy Spirit, our very own  invaluable resource.  When we don’t know what to do, we can start  by putting a  stop to the things that we know are NOT  in line with the Word  of God.  Here are just a few examples:

 Emotional

If I am lonely, I can make a decision not to substitute the attention of men (for men, women) for the Love of God.  God loves us eternally. I blue notcan trust God for the right relationships in His perfect timing.

Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.__1 John 4:10 KJV

If I am anxious, I can make a decision not to overthink and reason  for a resolution. I can pray and read God’s Word

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.__Philipians 4:6-7

Financial                                                                                                                                              

piggybankIf  I  need money, I can make a decision not to spend on luxuries like frappės, designer clothing,  another book,  or the latest cell phone or gadget.

 Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?__ Matthew 6:26 KJV

Physical

If I am not going to exercise I can make a decision not to overeat.

Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.__1 Corinthians 10:31 KJV

If I am sick and not yet healed, I can make a decision not to become discouraged and look to God for endurance.

The Lord sustains them on their sickbed and restores them from their bed of illness__ Psalm 41:3 NIV

Spiritual

If I am Spiritually dry and I don’t “feel” the presence of God in my life, I can make a decision not to take in bad lyrics or trashy television shows.

As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby: __1 Peter 2:2 KJV

Communication

If I don’t have the humility or courage to compliment everyone that I encounter on some true virtue, I can make a decision not to make aemoticon zipped lips negative comment.

Keep thy tongue from evil, and thy lips from speaking guile.__Psalm 34:13 KJV

 

All these NOTs make room for the Good (“God”) things that God has for us!

green check markFor all the promises of God in him are yea, and in him Amen, unto the glory of God by us.__ 2 Corinthians 1:20 KJV

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

3 responses to “NOT

  1. Pingback: the God in me | yesgodisineverything·

Leave a Reply

