news for thought

 

newscasterIf I had to choose one verse to describe recent news headlines that I have seen.

There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.__Proverbs 12:14 KJV

I am not a news junkie.  Last week someone  actually called me to ask if I knew that we were getting more snow. lol  Younewscaster f see,  I made a decision many years ago to take a step back from the repeated onslaught of  reports of violent incidents, uncovered corruption,  and disturbing business forecasts  delivered in a smart or perky package called the nightly news. I have not yet regretted that decision.  Some may call that “head in the sand”, but I call it “fog”  __ Focus on God!

Paul wrote to the Philipans:  “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” (Philipians 4:8 KJV)

Our thought life is precious ground and it requires our attention.  Several years ago Dr. Charles Stanley preached a beautiful sermon describing the evolution of our character.  It went something like this:

thought→emotion→desire→action→habit→character

Other ministers have taught similar messages that were equally effective. And the commonality of them all is, who we are, begins with what hand on light switchwe think about.   My  introspective nature almost autonomously takes this illustration and works it backwards.  For example:  If there is something that I am doing that I no longer want to do (character trait), then I examine what I am thinking that causes me to act in such a manner. With the guidance of the Holy Spirit, I can apply what the Word of God says about the matter. . .  I renew my mind. (Romans 12:2)

As believers we are walking billboards or commercials for Christ. We do not glean respect for high moral values without taking responsibility for our everyday actions. We are always on display.

Jesus said,

You will recognize them by their fruits. Are grapes gathered from thornbushes, or figs from thistles?  So, every healthy tree bears good fruit, but the diseased tree bears bad fruit.  A healthy tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a diseased tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.  Thus you will recognize them by their fruits.“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.”__ Matthew 7:16-21 English Standard Version

At some point, each us has to decide what we believe and then live it

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

Related Scripture

And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.__ Romans 12:2 KJV

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

Leave a Reply

