My Hydrangea story

yellow roseI love flowers.  They are one of God’s greatest  “passive” earthly adornments. Yellow roses are my favorite flower.  Second runner-ups are purple tulips.  And sliding in to third are the graceful symbols of beauty and extravagance, calla lilies. Now that I have doused you with tmi on my favorite cut flowers, today I want to talk about why I have long admired Hydrangeas.

About 7 years about I bought a hydrangea plant from a garden center. From what I had read in my??????????????????????????????????????????????? pre-purchase research, it would be 3-5 years before my small plant actually flowered.  (Sometimes knowing in advance  helps when you have to wait.)  I believe it was the third year after planting  and I was getting excited because this could be “the year.”   That very spring, I was able to employ a “yard man “ that I can only assume was  actually a covert assassin of yellow rose bushes, ornamental grasses, and  hydrangeas.  While I worked in the front yard, his trusty weedwacker beheaded everything I called lovely. lol   I can laugh NOW.    Comedy = tragedy + time  __Comedienne Steve Allen (paraphrased)

After a year of healing for me (and the plants), I employed a different yard crew. I was very excited to get the help. Since I would not be present while they worked, Iwent to my local home store and bought some yellow irrigation flags to mark my yard jewels, as discussed with the crew foreman.  When I came home that afternoon, I was very pleased with the front yard, so much so that I took pictures, but once I  broke through the back gate I saw  a “remnant” of my five year old  hydrangea “scalped” to the size of a two year old plant.  lol   Well, last year, year 7 sans yard men, I enjoyed a fully blooming hydrangea plant!

Guess what?  I am that hydrangea! You are that hydrangea! DSC00462

God chose us from all the “plants”  in the garden center! We may  have even been plucked as one from among our own family to experience His love and freedom.  The first of many bretheren.

But we are bound to give thanks alway to God for you, brethren beloved of the Lord, because God hath from the beginning chosen you to salvation through sanctification of the Spirit and belief of the truth: Whereunto he called you by our gospel, to the obtaining of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.__ 2 Thessalonians 2:13-14 KJV

 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren. Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.__ Romans 8:29-30 KJV

Hydrangeas:

  • experience seasons of dormancy and seasons of splendor.

That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. __Matthew 5:45

  • are sometimes pruned,  drastically and involuntarily.

I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit.__ John 15:1-2

  • has the ability  to change (colors) in response to the elements (acidity) present in its ground soil.

We too get to choose which nutrients we feed our physical, mental, and spiritual selves. When we feed on the word of God we grow!

And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.__Romans 12:2

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

Leave a Reply

