Are you dead yet?

I must say that I learned about  Our Father from looking at the life of Gideon.  Identity IN Christ is what I took away fcross in cemetaryrom this bit of history. We are not called to do anything  great for God, but God enlists us to let Him work THROUGH us.   The most unreasonable, paradoxical part of being in the service of God is that our fleshy nature must DIE.

My personal description/ definition of the flesh is:  Natural self-seeking tendencies; intrinsic self- serving motivations.

Jesus said:  For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.__Matthew 6:25

Abraham is such a great example to us as a receiver of the promised child Isaac at 100 years old.

And being not weak in faith, he considered not his own body now dead, when he was about an hundred years old, neither yet the deadness of Sarah’s womb: He staggered not at the promise of God through unbelief; but was strong in faith, giving glory to God; __Romans 4:19-20

God’s glory is magnified and properly displayed in those  situations that appear “humanly hopeless ” In my life,  and I suspect many others  God has allowed circumstances to progress  beyond my control to highlight my (our) need for Him.  One sign of Christian growth is an increased dependency on the Lord.  Because God is well able to provide for our  emotional, spiritual, physical, and  financial needs.

question mark black blueJust a few questions to check for signs of life (or death  lol ) of  the fleshy nature:

Is the Bible the final authority in my life?

Am I easily offended?

Is it “my way” or the highway?

Am I  the center of my universe?

Am I  willing to say “ I was wrong ”?

Am I willing to try something new?

Am I willing to to keep going when I want to quit?

God is The Master Carpenter , and   His word (plane) makes more than one  pass on our hearts and minds in His  refining process. God planes  down the “high” places in  us until we are aware of our true state of  inadequacy.  His goal is not to break us, but to equip us for greater use or service.

 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.__Philipians 1:21

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

[contact-field label='Name' type='name' required='1'/][contact-field label='Email' type='email' required='1'/][contact-field label='Comment' type='textarea' required='1'/]

Leave a Reply

