a lesson from King Saul

The Scream by Edvard Munch

The Scream by Edvard Munch

And Samuel said, What hast thou done? And Saul said, Because I saw that the people were scattered from me, and that thou camest not within the days appointed, and that the Philistines gathered themselves together at Michmash; Therefore said I, The Philistines will come down now upon me to Gilgal, and I have not made supplication unto the Lord: I forced myself therefore, and offered a burnt offering. And Samuel said to Saul, Thou hast done foolishly: thou hast not kept the commandment of the Lord thy God, which he commanded thee: for now would the Lord have established thy kingdom upon Israel for ever. But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the Lord hath sought him a man after his own heart, and the Lord hath commanded him to be captain over his people, because thou hast not kept that which the Lord commanded thee.__ 1 Samuel 13:11-14

 When I read this passage, I feel like I am eavesdropping on a catastrophic conversation. It makes me feel a little sick.  I don’t really like to see wreckage.  I hear a man, no a King , trying to justify his disobedience.  Like the Final act of a tragic play,  Saul has allowed his insecurities  to destroy his reign.

But I am  grateful for its presence because  this passage is a lesson in what NOT to do. What I take away from this account is:  Don’t do what you KNOW is wrong.  Don’t be led by fear. Don’t  give your fears fancy names; give them to God.  Don’t reason within yourself (soul, lol) when you have instructions from God.

man standing on compass

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.__Proverbs 3:5-6

pathwayThis passage also magnifies the value of the Holy Spirit in my everyday life. I (we) don’t have to wait for Samuel or any other prophet for guidance when I find myself in a difficult situation.  And because of Jesus, I can give God the sacrifice of praise at all times!

 Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

Leave a Reply

