Not I

scalesFor I through the law am dead to the law, that I might live unto God. I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.  I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.__Galatians 2:19-21

Dead to performance-based religion, because Saul encountered the Son of God in that blinding light on the Damascus road.  Saul/Paul’s physical blindness had an inverse effect on His spiritual sight.   Saul, a scholar of the Jewish scriptures knew that innocent blood was shed on the cross, and by faith, Paul received Jesus and His righteousness.  His heart was opened to receive Jesus as fulfillment of the law and the giver of grace.

3 crosses

So if all the jokes are accurate and I meet Saint Peter at the pearly gates of Heaven to justify my qualifications to enter in, then I  (we) only  need to say “Not I, but Christ!”pearly gates 2

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

COPYRIGHT ©2014

Leave a Reply

