Be still

The Bible is the only book that you read and it reads you. It speaks to the Spirit that lives inside of  believers and the Spirit speaks to the heart of unbelievers. Because the Bible is so powerful, you  and I can read the same verse and hear a different but relevant message from God.   And we can read the same verse at a different time, stage of Christian growth or “spiritual season” of our lives and get new perspective or revelation of who God is.

It can be mind-Two Adirondack chairs on deckblowing to ponder how God is EVERTHING to EVERY ONE of his children and yet still seeks to bring lost souls into His family. God is AWESOME!

 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. ___Psalm 46:10

God is faithful to provide for ALL of our needs,  including our emotional needs for comfort and guidance. A few years ago, a scripture became “rarrows and quivereal “to me while I was attending my local church and it was if I was sitting at the feet of Our Father soaking up His wisdom. It was life-changing.  Once while reading the Scriptures in my favorite chair and another time the Word became alive to me while reading a  bible-based Christian book.  Each time, God gave me a word that truly changed my life by renewing my mind.

This year, in this wilderness season a verse became real to me through a sermon by John Piper on his DesiringGod website. I now have another arrow in my quiver,  a balm to my soul  and an instruction  for the  the next step on the journey.

 direction arrow on street

For thus saith the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel; In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength: and ye would not.__ Isaiah 30:15 KJV (emphasis added)

 

The context of the verse is an impatient Israelite nation that moves forward in fear without consulting God.  So many of us become impatient and or anxious in difficult times and the Prophet Isaiah has a word for you and me!

 

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

 

COPYRIGHT ©2013

Leave a Reply

