(my) 23rd Psalm

Decorative pasteboards of The Lord’s Prayer and the 23rd Psalm hang on the living room????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? wall  just outside of my grandmother’s bedroom.  She “required” or  least strongly suggested that I (we) memorize those passages of scripture.  I can’t remember exactly how old I was but I  would say that I was in first or second grade when I  memorized those scriptures. (the King James Version, of course).  I remember that I was not suppose to say “Amen” after Psalm 23 and  I often did. lol.

My grandmother was closer to poor than rich but she gave me two priceless gifts in those two passages. (BTW. if she were alive she would be 110  years old.)  Over the years I have forgotten parts of each passage but I have relearned them both . I am grateful to my grandmother whose wisdom (and obedience) surpassed her education.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh m?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????e to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever. –Psalm 23–

This passage contains the guidance, protection and provision of  the Perfect Shepherd. Today we have a great Comforter, the Holy Spirit with us at all times. And even when negative circumstances loom over us likesheep morguefiles dark shadows, we have no need to fear because we are (I am) promised victory in the rod (protection) and the staff  (guidance) of God.  And before we dwell in Our Father’s house, we will have a banquet-victory- in the presence of our enemies.   God  anoints, bathes us  with and in  His grace so that goodness and mercy__ yes, grace and mercy, those wonder twins)__follow us (me) every day of our lives.

I know my grandmother would not mind if today, I say              AMEN!!!

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

 

COPYRIGHT ©2013

3 responses to “(my) 23rd Psalm

  1. Tears as I read this!!! Big Mama (Our Grandmother) would be proud of you as I am!! TKFUL that The Lord IS MY SHEPHERD!!! GLORY

  2. Pingback: Psalm 63 | yesgodisineverything·

Leave a Reply

