Brother James

 A few years ago, I bought this song on I-tunes,” Count It All Joy” by Javen   (great song  btw).  I sang it for a season. .  .  a good season.  But today, I skip over that song  liksidewalk sqe the line on the sidewalk. ( I don’t want to break my mama’s back! lol)  

It is as if  playing this song would somehow commit me to agreeing to welcome “divers temptations.” Well God is bigger than a song and He used  James to compassionately entreat us to count it ALL joy.

 

“My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this,  that the trying of your faith worketh  patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord.  A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.”

__ James 1: 2-8 KJV emphasis added

All this talk about patience and perfection (completeness).   Hmmm . . . could it be  that the Book of James really IS  a “bottom line”  epistle. It begins at the end; with a description of Christian maturity  .  .  .  . patience,  perserverance,  endurance, steadfastness and stability

Because God is  loving and purposeful, I can trust that ALL  the temptations and trials that He allows me to encounter are a part of His plan for me (and you). Jeremiah 29:11

wisdom

James then adds wisdom to the  recipe of maturation. Divers temptations and trials   + Godly wisdom  will allow (me ) us to transform into a believer(s) that endure the storms of life .  More evidence that God is more concerned with our character than our comfort. But He is no less loving because God sees the end from the beginning and He is the beginning of all things everlasting!  James said  Count it ALL  JOY.  ( Did he say Almond Joy? lol)

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scriptures

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Jeremiah 29:11

COPYRIGHT ©2013

Leave a Reply

