Do I LIKE me?

Love is not an option. God loves us and He gives us the grace to love everyone with the love of Christ.  But liking is not a command belike thumbs upcause we are flesh and blood.  .  . well, some of us  lol      On occasion, I have met someone and I have walked away thinking, “Why don’t I like him (or her)? “   But  if I follow the Golden Rule.  . . every so often I  will ask myself the question: “Do I like me?”   

Am I unkind? When I was a small child, speaking harsh words was called playing, now it’s joking or” jk” (just kidding). Several years ago, a friend  said something profound and funny. She said: “Funny is when ‘EVERYBODY’ laughs.” C. Smith  lol    Bottom line:  If in doubt, Don’t.

“A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.” __Proverbs 18:24 KJV

Am I selfish and or self-centered ? Is it all about me? Am I prideful or condescending?  Is my first thought is “how will this will this affect me?”   Do I listen to others?  Am I genuinely concerned about what concerns other people?  If the world revolves around me, I am the center of my universe .The center of the universe is a dangerous position for a  human being. The center of our universe has been reserved by God, Our Creator for the sun and His Son.The word love in English with the O replaced by a yellow flower.

Am I a liar?  We all know that a lie is the antithesis of the WHOLE truth. So I guess the real question is really, Do I  tell the truth in love?   Do I wield the truth like a ”wmd” ? lol  Do I tell the truth so that I feel better or do I speak in genuine concern for the well- being of others?

 Am I a “taker”?    What is a taker?  A non-giver   An anti-giver lol

“I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.”__ Acts 20:35

 Am I a manipulator?   A manipulator looks like a giver but he/she is really a loaner, a conditional giver. When I give a gift, am I priming the pump? Do I give to get?  Do I give to others who cannot give anything back to me? Luke 14 speaks of the parable of a great banquet, which illustrates the principle of trusting God with our reward for helping others.           But when thou makest a feast, call the poor, the maimed, the lame, the blind: And thou shalt be blessed; for they cannot recompense thee: for thou shalt be recompensed at the resurrection of the just. “__Luke 14:13-14 KJV

Am I envious or jealous?  This question is the last on my list because I think that it is prideful to think that I have something that someone else wants. After all, what do you or I have that wasn’t given to us? I didn’t create my eyes, hair, legs, mind, family, talent, etc. These are gifts from God and /or circumstances allowed by God. And as we know, circumstances  are subject to change.  We are stewards. If anyone is  envious or covetous of us or our circumstances, then they are in opposition with God.

For who maketh thee to differ from another? and what hast thou that thou didst not receive? now if thou didst receive it, why dost thou glory, as if thou hadst not received it?” __Corinthians 4:7 KJV

I agree with God, I  The word love in English with the O replaced by a yellow flower.you and I like me!  Okay, I   The word love in English with the O replaced by a yellow flower.me too!

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scriptures

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.

And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these. __ Luke :30-31 KJV

 And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.__Luke 6:31 KJV

That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive;But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ: __Ephesians 4: 14-15 KJV

COPYRIGHT ©2013

Leave a Reply

