God knows

Jesus was about to fulfill His destiny—our Redeemer.  His time had come.  The Holy Lamb was about to take upon Himself the sins of the world.  

“Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done. And there appeared an angel unto him from heaven, strengthening him. And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly: and his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground. And when he rose up from prayer, and was come to his disciples, he found them sleeping for sorrow,”__ Luke 42-45KJV

Sometimes I think,” if I knew– when, what, how, I would feel better.” For me, it is all in the details. Yet, when I consider that Jesus  knew that He was born to die; and He knew that  He would live again but in His humanity, Jesus felt great distress at what lay praying handsbefore Him. The King James Version calls it ”agony”.  This tells me that feelings and emotions are obviously not God’s priority. There is something more important at stake; God’s purpose. Proverbs 19:21  says  many are the plans of man but God’s purpose prevails. God purpose is to conform us into the image of Christ.

Jesus went to the cross. He endured the pain and the shame.  And in the shadow of the cross,  Jesus  prayed and prayed some more.  And He was  strengthened.

For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.__ Hebrews 4:15 KJV (emphasis added)

I would like to see a verse in scripture, a precedent, that  shows how God delivered Jesus, Moses, Abraham, Joseph, David, or Paul from their affliction, but I can’t find one. In God’s wisdom, which is higher than ours (mine), I only find that God’s Amazing Grace is sufficient.   I must stay connected to the True Vine because He knows best.

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scripture 

Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.__ Proverbs 19:21 NIV®

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. __2 Corinthians 12:9 KJV

 

COPYRIGHT ©2013

Leave a Reply

