help my unbelief

positive and negative

“Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth. And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.  When Jesus saw that the people came running together, he rebuked the foul spirit, saying unto him, Thou dumb and deaf spirit, I charge thee, come out of him, and enter no more into him.”__ Mark 9:23-25 KJV (emphasis added)

I used to think that the poor man, desperately seeking deliverance for his son doesn’t have enough faith.   I would ask “How can you believe and have unbelief?”  I guess it is the same as a person  who has  healthy and unhealthy (i.e. cancerous) cells in the same body.  I  use this example because the faith fight is the fight for your (my) Spiritual life.

Yes, you (I) can have faith in God, receive the gift of salvation and surrender your (my) will to God’s word (aka God’s will) and STILL have unbelief.   You can have a “Red Sea” experience with God and even “a 4-days dead Lazarus” experience and STILL have unbelief.

Why unbelief?  Because “we leak”.

Circumstances can beat us down like  a 10 round heavy weight fight  . . . if we lose perspective.  .  . if we lose our connection to the vine.  But   Jesus said:

I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. __John 15:1-5

grape vine

The cure for unbelief:  Staying connected to Jesus!  Don’t hold on; get  your “sap” from Jesus__ like a branch does from its vine. . . its lifeline!  That father knew was talking to the One who could heal his son. He was in the presence of the true vine.

Read the Word of God and Pray. Talk to God about everything that concerns you and expect an answer__ expect relief, expect a word of instruction, expect that God will faithfully provide, expect grace and peace. . .. .

Grace and Peace (lol)

030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

One response to “help my unbelief

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! 2014 | yesgodisineverything·

Leave a Reply

