grace (aka Ruth)

I don’t know of any Bible reader that doesn’t love the Book of Ruth.  Ruth tried a “new thing” by returning to Bethlehem with Naomi. She forsake “the familiar” for a life better than she could have ever imagined.  This reminds me of two of my favorite quotes that reflect Godly principles. The first:

 “The friend to your weakness is the enemy to your destiny.” __Dale C. Bronner

I speculate that two young women like Orpah and Ruth  being married to brothers, were more than likely friends. Both ladies  were of Moab and acquainted with Moabite customs.  And sadly, both young ladies were widowed.  In her grief,  Naomi decides to return to Bethlehem and tells her daughters to return to their mothers’ home.  Orpah kisses Naomi and leaves.  But Ruth . . .

And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.”__ Ruth 1 :16-17

Ruth’s unselfish devotion to her mother in law led her to glean in the field of a  respected wealthy landowner, Boaz.  God’s grace caused Him to favor Ruth  which eventually led to their marriage.

Ruth had the courage to:

“Obey God and leave all the consequences to Him.”  Charles F. Stanley

Grace and Peace,

030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Leave a Reply

