One verse at a time

Every so often,  a Bible verse  seems to get my attention.  I will hear it in a song or in a sermon with an uncanny frequency.  God is speaking.

I can’t say how long the verse keeps my attention, but I’d guess “for as long as it takes” to accomplish its  purpose.  The verse is generally comforting because it shows :

  • God is concerned about what is concerns me;
  • This is not the first time this has happened and I am not the only one;
  • It contains instruction; either stated or implied.  i.e. turn to . . , trust in . . wait patiently for . . .
  • God has a resolution that is best for everyone involved.   To say that God uses  divine diplomacy is grossly inadequate in describing how He resolves problems.  I am at a loss for words to attempt label the work of  someone who sees the end and the beginning of a thing in a single frame.  That is what it means to be AWESOME!frame

Earlier this year, when faced with an unexpected challenge , I read “The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me” . I also heard  this verse in sermons, in passing on television programs and even in a song on the radio one Sunday on my way from a church service.   What happened?  I guess it is common to say that something “resolved itself” because there was no visible hand (the invisible hand of God) effortlessly settled the matter. And that is pretty much what happened.

Looking back, I can associate certain psalms or scriptures with events in my life. I guess that would be called living the Bible. lol

For the past week, Isaiah 30:15  is my current verse. It is a goal and a promise all in one.

 For thus saith the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel; In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength: and ye would not.__Isaiah 30:15

The context of this verse is that the Israelites did not consult God before making a treaty with Egypt.  Considering the established practices and their covenant, an irreverent move indeed.  Choosing their (my) plan over God’s instruction; most likely motivated by fear.  Even so, the verses following show that God STILL longs to extend His grace. He is faithful, even if we are not.

In turning to (and back again to) God and resting on God ,  I “experience “ salvation in quietness and confidence. It takes faith to depend on God , so I  am just taking it one verse at time.

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scriptures

The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me: thy mercy, O Lord, endureth for ever: forsake not the works of thine own hands.__Psalm 138:8 KJV

Leave a Reply

