Faith is not a feeling

What is Faith?   What does it look like?thumb_smileyvault-cute-big-smiley-static-042.gif

Sometimes the best way to identify a thing is to say what it is NOT.  I remember reading somewhere that when asked how he created the statue of David, Michelangelo  said “ I just chipped away everything that didn’t look like David.”   Michelangelo had a vision of what his David looked like while he looked at a block of stone.    In the book of  Hebrews 11, the Bible says that Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not seen.  So, one characteristic of faith would be that it requires “vision” .

Now on to the chipping away . .smileyvault-badday

Faith is not an instant or digital photo.  My Faith looks more like an x-ray because  I have to look beyond the surface and ask myself, “what or who am I hoping and believing in?”  My Faith requires confidence in God’s character and ability.  I have to personally know that God loves me and that He wants the best for me.

Faith is not a suspense novel full of colorful details  that  expertly details ingenious strategies.  Today,  my faith looks more like that outline I learned to write for my  9th grade research paper;  more space than words.    So  Faith requires unanswered questions.       smileyvault-baloon

Faith is not an online shopping cart or wish list.   Because my intellect is finite and my perspective infinitesimal in comparison to my all-knowing God’s mind,  I don’t always know what to have faith for.      But I can trust that God will “back-order” my selection and send me His very best.   Faith is submissive.

Lastly,

Faith  is not a feeling.   My feelings are often like a  thermometer of my circumstances.  But, my faith is based on God’s WORD.  Now this is the same WORD that hung the sun and the moon and separated the land from the sea.  When I am exercising my faith, I have to check the manual to see what God says about this matter and stand on His promise to reveal, provide, resolve, remove, defend,  heal, guide, etc. Bottom line, as long as the sun and the moon remain above the earth,  God is Faith——–ful!!!

The Bible says that it is impossible to please God without faith.  God wants me (us) to believe Him and to take Him at his WORD.  So for today, my  Faith is my  decision to believe and expect that God will bring forth the vision that He has given me for this    ______________ (fill in the blank).

Grace and Peace,030208_0025_0246.wbcCheryl

Related Scriptures

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1  

For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith. __ Romans 12:3

But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.__ Hebrews 11:6

And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things! But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Esaias saith, Lord, who hath believed our report? So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God __ Romans 10: 15-17

COPYRIGHT ©2013

Leave a Reply

